You need to Read the rules and Join the forums before you can post.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mid-Range Workstation build (First Build)
04-29-2013, 10:20 PM,
Hello fellow forumers.

I'm working on putting together a mid-range workstation PC with the intent of working with the Adobe software suite (Video and Hi-res images) as well as some work with Zbrush and additional rendering software. I started by going through the mainstream workstation guide on this site and would like for some additional input on the list of components I've put together. Specifically concerning the compatibility of the components(sufficient power supply, case size, etc.) as well as a few questions on using a SSD as the boot drive with a traditional HDD for storage.

This is the very first computer I've put together so I'm still learning a few things.

So here is my part list so far:

Motherboard: ASRock X79 Extreme6 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel

CPU: Intel Core i7-3820 Quad-Core Processor 3.6 GHz 10 MB Cache LGA 2011

Memory: Corsair Vengeance Blue 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800)

GPU: NVIDIA Quadro 4000 by PNY 2GB GDDR5 PCI Express Gen 2 x16 DVI-I DL

Main Question area
SSD: Plextor PX-128M3S 128 GB M3S SATA 6 GB/s 2.5-Inch

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD SATA 6 Gb/s NCQ 64MB Cache 3.5-Inch Internal Bare Drive ST500DM002 x2 for RAID set-up

CPU Cooler: ARCTIC Freezer i30 Extreme CPU Cooler - Intel, 320W Ultimate Cooling Power, Direct-Touch Heatpipes

Drive/Burner: Asus 24xDVD-RW Serial ATA Internal OEM Drive

Power Supply: : FSP Group AURUM GOLD 500W (AU-500) ATX12V /EPS 12V 80PLUS GOLD Certified

Case: Corsair Graphite Series Black 600T Mid-Tower

I'd also like to ask if there are any specific tools besides screwdrivers an hex bits I would need for the project.

I appreciate any advice or feedback.

Thanks
04-30-2013, 09:14 PM, (This post was last modified: 04-30-2013, 09:19 PM by mwhals.)