You need to Read the rules and Join the forums before you can post.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gaming PC advice?
04-07-2013, 09:39 PM,
Gaming PC advice?
I want a decent gaming PC that is reasonable. Currently I want a tier 1; but since its kinda pricey which parts of it would be okay to skimp out on? Also would there be any large benefit of buying a quad core processor such as the i5-3350P over the i3 3220? Next, how would i know if my PC is being cooled down sufficiently? Is Windows 8 really that good compared to Windows 7, and in this case OEM or retail? Also would getting a cheaper case really hurt me? Finally, how hard would assembling a PC be since I have no experience with building PC's before. Huh
04-07-2013, 10:08 PM,
Wink  RE: Gaming PC advice?
I will let others answer the CPU question but will offer this: building the computer is relatively easy and super rewarding! I too was new to it and was able to ask questions on this forum and recieve quick answers and was surprised how well it went. There is a great feeling when you click that button and the machine comes to life. As far as cooling goes-at a minimum one fan low in front to draw cool air in and one in the rear top (back panel or out of the top) to draw hot air out should suffice for a basic build- that said, fans are inexpensive to add if you are not sure. A download program CPUID HWMonitor will measure your temps, fan loads and voltage on both the CPU and graphics card so you can see if your system is cool enough. The case is only important regarding the fan locations and ease of build. Any of the recommended cases in the tier 1 article should be fine. Look at some other posts and note how they suggest all the parts- research what you are thinking about and ask questions (ie-best performance in a price range?, alternatives?, what size power supply? etc.) and I think most members here will give great feedback and advice. Good Luck!
04-07-2013, 10:13 PM,
RE: Gaming PC advice?
Welcome!