You need to Read the rules and Join the forums before you can post.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newbie in Cyber Town
06-26-2012, 01:30 PM,
Newbie in Cyber Town
I'm a Mac geek at heart and will one.

Live in Northern California, worked on Molecular Biology and medical research for a few years. Currently getting my Master's in Clinical Social Work (I know, big change...Turns out I find people more interesting than lab mice...)

I have a great desire/dream to one get be able to get a sailplane flying license. Building a decent platform to practice flying in a simulator at home will not only be a fun thing to do but it will save me a ton of money in flying lessons for licensing.

However, as a broke graduate student I will have to put a ton of effort into finding the most affordable way to make this work Wink

If any of you can point me in the right direction, I'm looking to ideally build something that gets me to use Microsoft Flight Simulator with good resolution but for now I'd be stoked if I could get to put something together that will get me flying with Silent Wings. Below is a copy paste of the System Requirements for Silent Wings:

Operating System: Windows XP/2000 or Linux (kernel 2.4 or higher) or Mac OSX 10.4 or higher.
3D Graphics card required with a minimum of 32Mb graphics memory. 64 Mb or higher recommended.
800MHz Processor
256Mb RAM
0.5-4Gb available HD space, depending on how much scenery you choose to install

THANKS!
06-26-2012, 01:50 PM,
RE: Newbie in Cyber Town
Those spec requirements seem VERY low. Basically, any $300 decent company laptop can run it, but what exactly were you shooting for?
More pew-pew, less QQ.
06-26-2012, 02:09 PM,
(06-26-2012, 01:50 PM)tenderanger Wrote: Those spec requirements seem VERY low. Basically, any $300 decent company laptop can run it, but what exactly were you shooting for?

I'm shooting for Microsoft Flight Simulator with a comfortable level of performance. So somewhere b/t these: