You need to Read the rules and Join the forums before you can post.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Workstation (DAW) / Gaming set up Question
12-15-2010, 05:44 AM, (This post was last modified: 12-15-2010, 05:47 AM by setujaq.)
Workstation (DAW) / Gaming set up Question
Hi! My name is setujaq!

I am really brand new with this kind of computer stuff but I am willing to take it to the next level, lolz. I am trying to build my first computer and I am trying to learn as much I can for this project. I kept spending tons of money buying a computer that is up to date and the last computer that I spend is for a Laptop that cost me about 2000 dollars which is now kinda like a waste of money. My main use of this project computer will be more in a Digital Audio Workstation and a little bit of gaming like counter strike and star craft 2. My current laptop cannot support my program like Sony Acid Pro and I am experiencing some difficulties while recording. I can only play starcraft 2 in low settings.
And here is my question (Based from 1250 Workstation set-up).
Is this set up will be good? Any suggestions will be highly appreciated.

Main Use for: Sony Acid Pro / Fruity Loops / once in a while lightroom / once in a while in short video clips / counter strike game / starcraft 2.

[b]CPU/PROCESSOR -[/b] Intel Core i7-950 3.06GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core
MOTHERBOARD - ASUS Sabertooth X58 LGA 1366 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0
RAM - DDR3 8GB (2x4GB)1600MHz Viper II Sector 5 Series Patriot PGV38G1600ELK
VIDEO CARD - ASUS HD6870 1GB EAH6870 /2DIS/1GD5
HARD DRIVE - Two Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.5 inch RAID 10: Capacity: 2TB (If it is possible and if I can set it up correctly lolz. sorry im nub)
OPTICAL DRIVE - ASUS Black 24X SATA CD/DVD Burner
POWER SUPPLY - SeaSonic S12II 620W 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
CASE - NZXT Phantom PHAN-001BK
Sound Card- Integrated