You need to Read the rules and Join the forums before you can post.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Build critique for a first timer - input welcome!
08-14-2011, 01:55 PM,
Build critique for a first timer - input welcome!
Hi guys,

This is my first build, been going back and forth between building the thing myself due to time and convenience (and worry that I'll mess something up). I think I'm going to take the leap and build myself though - the cheapest pre-made build I could find would run me about 2000 and I think I can do quite a bit cheaper on my own.

Use: Optimize for gaming - haven't got the monitor yet but probably gonna get around a 27' one. I'd like to be able to play games at highest settings for the forseeable future, especially the upcoming BF3/MW3/Skyrim. Dunno if I'm gonna be able to manage that or not but I guess we'll see.

Again I'm extremely in-experienced at this, I've been trying to educate myself but right now I think I need input on several areas.

GPU: EVGA 015-P3-1582-AR GeForce GTX 580 SuperClocked Video Card

-I went with this for good performance now, but I want to leave open the possibility of adding another for SLI in the future, so for everything below I'd like to plan for that as well.

CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K 3.4-3,8GHz Turbo HT Unlocked Multiplier

CPU Cooler: Corsair CWCH50-1 Hydro H50 CPU Liquid Cooler

Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF Edition Motherboard
OR ASUS P8P67 Deluxe B3 Intel P67 Motherboard

- Having a hard time deciding between these two, or if anyone has alternatives in a similar price.

Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB ( 2 x 4 GB ) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800)

Hard Drive: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB

-Considering adding a SSD for booting, likely the Crucial M4 64GB SSD or something similar, but I might cut it out to save a bit.

Optical Drive: Sony BD-5300S-0B 12X Blu-Ray and DVD Burner/Player