You need to Read the rules and Join the forums before you can post.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Please Help I am new and think I know the problem
08-11-2011, 10:55 PM,
Please Help I am new and think I know the problem
Hi All,

I am having a little trouble and I desperately need help :/ This is my first build and I am having 2 huge problems:

1. When I power up my monitor fails to recognize a signal from my PC- therefore I do not have access to my BIOS.
2. When I turned on my CPU fan does a half revolution and then dies and does not spin.

My build is essentially the tier 2 build from this site found at this link - I did upgrade to 8 GB of RAM and threw in the Hyper 212 cooler.

I feel like I've done my homework and I've made three conclusions:

1. It could be that my monitor fails to recognize my PC because my PSU could be misaligned and/or my pins could be bent (I struggled to get my cooler on and had a really difficult time getting my PSU to stick and to mount my cooling unit) - It's also possible that because of my earlier difficulty that my motherboard is damaged.
2. I am using a Hyper 212 Mastercooler cooling unit, which from my research causes the fan to not spin unless a specified heat level is reached by the core.
3. I could be shorting out because my motherboard is somehow grounded to the frame.

I have been troubleshooting all three options and I' am now desperate to figure out what is wrong! I've taken everything a part and have put it all back together again. I've also ran just the essentials (CPU, Card, Fan, Power) without any changes. If I did ruin the PSU or the motherboard I'd rather not have to buy both of them just to ensure I have good equipment Sad

Any suggestions?

THANK YOU!
Big Grin

08-12-2011, 06:10 AM, (This post was last modified: 08-12-2011, 06:11 AM by Andrew J.)
RE: Please Help I am new and think I know the problem
It sounds like either a short somewhere, a faulty PSU or a faulty motherboard.