You need to Read the rules and Join the forums before you can post.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
If I'm Forced to Upgrade Now...
07-25-2011, 12:10 AM,
If I'm Forced to Upgrade Now...
Well, crap. The fan on my GPU is going through its death throes, spinning too slow and leaving the temp range in the 50's (Celsius). Perhaps upgrading to a GT220 on a six-year-old Dell 531s was a bad idea; but I needed me some Oblivion! Anyway, I only mention this to convey my sense of urgency in making a decision.

I've been drooling over The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim for the past 6 months, and I know what I've got right now isn't going to cut it. I had considered upgrading to an actual gaming PC once the game was released and some benchmarks were established, but now it looks like I have two choices:

1. Replace the GPU in my current computer and hold out until November. Continue drooling while playing Oblivion instead.
2. Pick a tier that will hopefully run Skyrim, build it, and split my drooling time between Skyrim and other newer stuff I could now run.

The second option is a gamble, I know, but it's really tempting to do the upgrade now; not to mention it's really annoying to replace a GPU in a computer I'll only be using for another few months. Is it worth it?

This would be my first build. I've gleaned tons of info from this site, but one thing I can't seem to find is a more specific comparison of what each build can run. If I want to do this upgrade legitimately, can I do it in the "budget" range and still expect to run anything like Crysis or Just Cause 2 at medium or higher settings? I'm hoping to determine what's a good fit for me based on graphically demanding, currently released games that I'd like to play, and comparing that to what we can expect to require for Skyrim. These are estimates for Skyrim from a related wiki:

"Minimum System Requirements

* CPU: Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz or Althon X2 2.0 GHz
* RAM: 3 GB
* HDD: 15 GB
* Graphics: 512 MB card