HR Forums
SSD Caching? - Printable Version

+- HR Forums (http://forums.hardware-revolution.com)
+-- Forum: Computer Building (http://forums.hardware-revolution.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+--- Forum: Questions (http://forums.hardware-revolution.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Thread: SSD Caching? (/showthread.php?tid=2771)

Pages: 1 2


SSD Caching? - mwhals - 04-11-2012

Yes, Windows 7 will be 64 bit and any software will be 64 bit that has the 64 bit code. My current photoshop machine has Vista 64, but Only 4 GB of RAM and Photoshop CS3 (only 32 bit). This machine will be donated too or sold. I might reuse the case though. The new machine will replace this DuoCore machine and our main machine (the one with the 120 GB HD).

It will be a HUGE upgrade in speed and will run the newest versions of Photoshop (CS5 and CS6 are 64 bit).

Going to one desktop will also simplify things and allow a better PC for the same or less money that would be spent on two PCs.


RE: SSD Caching? - MathieuB - 04-11-2012

Actually, with SSDs being tremendously faster than HDDs, I wonder if having your scratch drive on another drive is even necessary now.


SSD Caching? - mwhals - 04-11-2012

It probably isn't necessary, but I would have the space for it on the 500 GB drive anyway. I use Photoshop enough, I don't want all the write / erase cycles on the main SSD since it writes to it every time a file is opened. I will check Adobe's forums though.


RE: SSD Caching? - MathieuB - 04-11-2012

Even if you write 10GB per day (on the high-end for the average user), a modern SSD would easily last over a decade Wink


SSD Caching? - mwhals - 04-11-2012

I actually have a 37.5 GB Raptor as my scratch drive in my old Photoshop PC. I could use it as it needs a home anyway, LOL. I am not letting the Raptors go as I also have a 150 GB one and the one in between the other two in size.


RE: SSD Caching? - carlstar - 04-12-2012

(04-11-2012, 10:44 AM)MathieuB Wrote: Actually, with SSDs being tremendously faster than HDDs, I wonder if having your scratch drive on another drive is even necessary now.

The actual program isn't going to use up that much. Having it on a SSD will start it up quicker. It is heavy on the processors not the drives.
The fact that RAM goes beyond only a few GBs now and if you want then have a drive to act as extra RAM but chances are it won't be used.

I heard that a SSD as scratch is a little faster compared to HDD but again. Not a big deal.

I think the lesson that has been learnt over and over with SSD is that as always it is best as the OS drive. Anything else is just going to cost too much.


SSD Caching? - mwhals - 04-12-2012

Agree on cost. All programs go on the SSD. It doesn't hurt to use a portion of the 500 GB drive as a scratch drive. That partition would also be useful for a temporary storage location when the need arises. It won't hurt me on space.