HR Forums

Full Version: High-end PC (tier 12) - 2012 build
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
if you dont already know, nvidia has released a patch to enable pcie 3.0 support for the 670 and 680 on x79 platform.(bout time lol)

its a standalone patch to be used with the newest driver. although at your resolution it wont make a big difference, they are reporting a 1.5-2% increase.
(06-25-2012, 10:54 AM)PwnBroker Wrote: [ -> ]if you dont already know, nvidia has released a patch to enable pcie 3.0 support for the 670 and 680 on x79 platform.(bout time lol)

its a standalone patch to be used with the newest driver. although at your resolution it wont make a big difference, they are reporting a 1.5-2% increase.

Are you talking about the SLI patch from EVGA? If so, I've already had that installed. But if not, can you give me a link?
(06-25-2012, 01:26 PM)Mr. Man Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-25-2012, 10:54 AM)PwnBroker Wrote: [ -> ]if you dont already know, nvidia has released a patch to enable pcie 3.0 support for the 670 and 680 on x79 platform.(bout time lol)

its a standalone patch to be used with the newest driver. although at your resolution it wont make a big difference, they are reporting a 1.5-2% increase.

Are you talking about the SLI patch from EVGA? If so, I've already had that installed. But if not, can you give me a link?
prolly not, this is a patch from nvidia. this has been ongoing since the 6xx releases and them not being validated for x79 systems. some motherboard manf has enabled thru bios updates but seem to be hit and miss. so nvidia are saying now that they are only supporting pcie 2.0 on those x79 systems, but have released a patch to force it to run pcie 3.0 at the users own risk. you might check to see if yours is running at pcie 3.0 speeds and if it is your good, if not heres a link to tom's that might help:

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/GeForce...16091.html

but like i said unless your running 3 cards and ultra high resolutions, its not going to matter much for right now.

(06-25-2012, 02:23 PM)PwnBroker Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-25-2012, 01:26 PM)Mr. Man Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-25-2012, 10:54 AM)PwnBroker Wrote: [ -> ]if you dont already know, nvidia has released a patch to enable pcie 3.0 support for the 670 and 680 on x79 platform.(bout time lol)

its a standalone patch to be used with the newest driver. although at your resolution it wont make a big difference, they are reporting a 1.5-2% increase.

Are you talking about the SLI patch from EVGA? If so, I've already had that installed. But if not, can you give me a link?
prolly not, this is a patch from nvidia. this has been ongoing since the 6xx releases and them not being validated for x79 systems. some motherboard manf has enabled thru bios updates but seem to be hit and miss. so nvidia are saying now that they are only supporting pcie 2.0 on those x79 systems, but have released a patch to force it to run pcie 3.0 at the users own risk. you might check to see if yours is running at pcie 3.0 speeds and if it is your good, if not heres a link to tom's that might help:

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/GeForce...16091.html

but like i said unless your running 3 cards and ultra high resolutions, its not going to matter much for right now.

1% gain is too marginal for me to consider doing all the work involved Tongue I'll run a 3DMark benchmark to see what I get.

Edit: Here are the results (I ran everything in extreme under the Advanced tab):

[Image: 0GBbc.png]

In performance mode:

[Image: Oarxx.png]
So, after installing SSD and bumping my RAM up to 32GB:

[Image: WRvIM.png]
It's been 2 years since the last post for this thread, so just wanted to give a quick update:

- The rig stays as is with no new hardware updates for two years and still am able to demolish the majority of games today.
- For super high-demand games like Arma 3, COH2, and a few others, the hardware shows a bit of age (averaging 30-40 FPS when everything is set to the absolute max).

I am looking for suggestions as to what I should update. No budget limit like always.
What's the resolution of your monitor again? Even for those games, your FPS seem a little low. I'm assuming you've already got the latest NVIDIA drivers?

Start by turning down the AA down in the latest games. That will make a big difference.

Are you current 680's overclocked? I'm not sure that's the best option, if you already have 2 hot cards pumping air into the same case; however, if you're cooling is sufficient, you can easily get an extra 10-20% out of most cards. Check out MSI Afterburner and some of the 600-series overclocking guides.

If none of those do it...you're pretty much left with upgrading to a newer pair of Video Cards. I would think 680's in SLI would be enough for anything but 4k for a few more years though.
well i know one thing for sure, COH2 does not support sli or crossfire nor will it ever. in fact it makes things a little worse. that game has low fps for just about any card at medium settings, as most RTS's will. curiously as well, that game doesnt do as well on a 2011/x79 platform as it does with an i7 on haswell. unless Arma 3 has added sli support, same goes for that game.

as far as upgrades unless you just want to drop coin on a new set of updated gpu's, but it still wont help in those 2 games you listed.

good luck
Well, if SLI is actually hurting those games, you could open the Nvidia Control Panel, Go the tab with settings-per-application, select that particular game, and set the "Multi-GPU mode" option to "Single-Card-Performance". Or whatever it's called...
(07-22-2014, 04:37 PM)Rapajez Wrote: [ -> ]Well, if SLI is actually hurting those games, you could open the Nvidia Control Panel, Go the tab with settings-per-application, select that particular game, and set the "Multi-GPU mode" option to "Single-Card-Performance". Or whatever it's called...

it may help a little, also cpu overclocking on these games will help some as well.

that's the caveat of sli or crossfire, not all games support it and some of the independent dev studios doesnt do very well with the coding. i think that they have updated arma 3 for sli but relic said they were not adding it to COH2.

so the conundrum is, do you keep your 680 sli setup(which is equivalent to maybe a single 780ti, give or take) or do you trade it in for say an r9-290(x), 780, 780 ti and get a boost in performance in those couple of games. fyi, COH2 runs 23% better on the 290(x), but arma 3 seems about tied with the 780.

good luck
Pages: 1 2 3 4