HR Forums

Full Version: New Setup HD Radeon 6870 Freezing
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys I'm a newb to this forum and pc building to an extent. I was hoping someone may be able to shed some light on a issue I've been having. My setup is brand new I just completed my build the night before last but my system has been freezing occasionally. The problem usually happens if I switch between windows but the entire desktop freezes, mouse and all. I just did a clean reinstall of my XFX HD Radeon 6870 driver suite and so far it hasn't frozen but I feel its only a matter of time. It did freeze as I was trying to close Magicka last night where the sound just keeps skipping.

Here are my specs:
I5-2400
Z68 Extreme 4 Gen3
XFX Double Fan HD Radeon 6870
8gb Corsair RAM
Intel 320 80gb SSD
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Seasonic 620w Modular PSU
Windows 7 OEM

Thank you in advance for any help you may be able to provide.
It just happened again while web browsing, I was downloading World of Tanks at the time.
I'm sorry to hear about your issues SaintSAW. I believe that your issues are most likely due to defective RAM so here's what I'd do to test it:

Run MemTest86+ overnight: http://www.memtest.org/#downiso
You can either get the .ISO to burn it to a CD/DVD or put it on a USB stick.

If you get any errors from that, it means that your RAM is unfortunately defective and needs to be exchanged.

If MemTest86+ reports no errors, let me know. If you get any other issues (BSOD or anything else), let me know too.
(12-30-2011, 04:06 PM)MathieuB Wrote: [ -> ]I'm sorry to hear about your issues SaintSAW. I believe that your issues are most likely due to defective RAM so here's what I'd do to test it:

Run MemTest86+ overnight: http://www.memtest.org/#downiso
You can either get the .ISO to burn it to a CD/DVD or put it on a USB stick.