HR Forums

Full Version: SSD + 4 raid 10 drives setup
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am building the $2500 workstation with some upgrades. This is the 1st build for me in many years and I have never used raid before. The system is running and the ssd is non raid and 4 Samsung F3 1tb drives are set as raid 10 and show as such in setup. The ssd is set as my c drive but I don't see the raid drive in my computer. I thought I was setting the ssd as a boot drive and the raid setup for applications and data but have done something wrong.

How do I get the proper setup so the SSD is the boot drive and the programs and data are operating on the raid drive, or it is better to leave the ssd as a c drive for programs and just use the raid for data? If so how do I get the data to the raid setup?

Thanks

Build
Asus Z8NA-D6C MOBO
2 INTEL E5630 PROCESSORS
24GB PATRIOT VIPERII RAM
NIVIDA QUADRO 4000 VIDEO CARD
INTEL X25 160GB SSD
4 SAMSUNG F3 1TB
LG 10X BLU-RAY OPTICAL DRIVE
CORSAIR AX850 GOLD POWER SUPPLY
CORSAIR 600T CASE2 SUPERMICRO 4U CPU COOLERS
WINDOWS 7 PRO 64
You will need to format the drives as NTFS. This can be done through the Disk Management utility.
Thanks, that worked. What is the best way to get application to load on the raid drive? Change the default in the registry, just pick the drive when installing a program or some way to make the c drive boot only or some other recommendation?
Create a folder called Programs or something on the RAID array and when you install it set the install path to that folder.