HR Forums

Full Version: A few problems with my build
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
So after reading through all the stuff on this site, I decided to upgrade (rather than build completely) from scratch.

The only thing I kept from my old computer was the case and the hard drive.

I had an Athlon II with an AMD motherboard, and I replaced these with:

ASRock H61M-GE LGA 1155 Intel H61 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel i5-2500k processor

I replaced the old 450 watt power supply with:
APEVIA JAVA ATX-JV650W 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply

I replaced the 4x1Gb of memory with:
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL

I replaced the old Nvidia GT 240 with:
EVGA 01G-P3-1465-RX GeForce GTX 465 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Now on to my problems:

Minor problem 1: My case has a multiple card reader for flash memory cards etc, which I never use, but I wasn't able to find a hookup for it on the motherboard.

Minor problem 2: In the Windows Performance center, where it lists the stats of your computer, my memory is listed as running at 1066 instead of 1600. Is this a motherboard BIOS setting that needs tweaking or simply Windows 7 reporting it wrong. They're installed in the correct (blue) slots for dual channel.

Major problem 1: I mainly use my computer for playing games. I switched from WoW to Rift on my old system and had to turn the settings way down to make it playable. With this upgrade, I was able to put it on high settings with no problem. However, during an intense point of the game with lots of stuff going on onscreen, it sounded like one or all of the fans slowed down, which caused the game to lag until the speed picked back up again. It kind of pulsed like this for a few minutes, but was intermittent.

I used the power supply calculator provided here which said I needed 450W, and as you can see I have 650W, although it's not a high end one.

The main thing I'm concerned about is getting the memory working at full speed, and the fan powerdown slowdown thing.

EDIT: Just in case I may need more fans. I currently have one intake fan on the front bottom of the case, the generic CPU fan, one on the side panel, and one on the back of the case. I'm not sure of the size but I think they're all 120's.
Minor problem 1: What type of connection does it use? It's probably a USB header, which are located towards the bottom of your motherboard.

Minor problem 2: Yes you need to change the BIOS DRAM speed. Also make sure you have the DRAM voltage set to what it should be.

Major problem 1: Your power supply is terrible, sorry, there's no dodging around it. You need to replace it as soon as possible. Get a Tier 1 or 2 PSU. 500W is more than enough.

By the way, RAM speed really is negligible but of course you want it to operate at the frequency that you paid for.
(07-20-2011, 09:15 AM)Andrew J Wrote: [ -> ]Minor problem 1: What type of connection does it use? It's probably a USB header, which are located towards the bottom of your motherboard.

Minor problem 2: Yes you need to change the BIOS DRAM speed. Also make sure you have the DRAM voltage set to what it should be.

Major problem 1: Your power supply is terrible, sorry, there's no dodging around it. You need to replace it as soon as possible. Get a Tier 1 or 2 PSU. 500W is more than enough.

By the way, RAM speed really is negligible but of course you want it to operate at the frequency that you paid for.

I believe it's a USB header, it's kind of a thin black block with maybe 8 or 10 pin holes in it with one or two blocked out.

I'll update the power supply, I was worried that was it but was hoping it was something else.

Thanks for your help.

(07-20-2011, 09:15 AM)Andrew J Wrote: [ -> ]Minor problem 1: What type of connection does it use? It's probably a USB header, which are located towards the bottom of your motherboard.

Minor problem 2: Yes you need to change the BIOS DRAM speed. Also make sure you have the DRAM voltage set to what it should be.

Major problem 1: Your power supply is terrible, sorry, there's no dodging around it. You need to replace it as soon as possible. Get a Tier 1 or 2 PSU. 500W is more than enough.

By the way, RAM speed really is negligible but of course you want it to operate at the frequency that you paid for.

I believe it's a USB header, it's kind of a thin black block with maybe 8 or 10 pin holes in it with one or two blocked out.

I'll update the power supply, I was worried that was it but was hoping it was something else.

Thanks for your help.

EDIT: Just ordered the OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W Modular which was on sale for 59.99 with an additional $25 MIR. If only I'd seen that article earlier, I wouldn't have settled on a Tier 5 crappy one.
Yup, that sounds like a USB header.

Hopefully the new PSU will resolve all your problems, but if it doesn't just make a new post. Smile
You should have gone with a P67 or a Z68 board for overclocking down the road. Or you could have gone with a non K series to save some money.
(07-20-2011, 12:27 PM)van13330gg Wrote: [ -> ]You should have gone with a P67 or a Z68 board for overclocking down the road. Or you could have gone with a non K series to save some money.

That was a mistake on my part. I originally ordered the CPU first, and had it stored away while I gathered the rest of the parts. I forgot that I got a 2500K, and thought I had just got an i5-2500.

The motherboard was actually an open box that was half price, so it was a fairly good deal.
One more question:

My CPU is running at around 55 degrees Celsius with the Motherboard temperature at 37 degrees Celsius. Isn't that hot for an idle temperature?

The CPU was at 90 C but I picked up another fan for the side of the case today, and that lowered it at least.

Yes. Running above 55C can cause stability problems with Athlon IIs. 90C can seriously damage it. Sounds like your CPU cooler isn't properly installed or it's just really bad.
(07-20-2011, 08:08 PM)Kriterian Wrote: [ -> ]One more question:

My CPU is running at around 55 degrees Celsius with the Motherboard temperature at 37 degrees Celsius. Isn't that hot for an idle temperature?

The CPU was at 90 C but I picked up another fan for the side of the case today, and that lowered it at least.

Even stock cooler can do better than that. You probably installed the CPU cooler wrong.
Take a look at this article and see if it helps.
http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?op...mitstart=5
That CPU temperature is probably why you're seeing a performance drop within a game: When the CPU reaches too high of a temperature, it slows down its frequency in order to emit less heat and protect itself from damage. Of course, that lower frequency results in lower framerates.
Pages: 1 2